Does Media Interfere with Interaction?

How do personal music players, such as smartphones, iPods, and Walkmans, change how we interact with people? Does walking around with headphones on isolate us from each other? Do you use your headphones or earbuds to keep people at a distance?

You can’t overdose on music. Marilyn Manson said it best, “Music is the strongest form of magic.” Being the music lover I am, I can’t disagree with that statement; however, even I can walk across campus and see how the constant access to our music through various mediums can disconnect us from one another. People are looking down at their phones to skip to the next song instead of smiling at a stranger, or having a random encounter with an old friend they didn’t see.

I’m not as technologically savvy as some of my fellow college mates, so I don’t walk around campus with my earbuds in, but I’m guilty of staring at my phone on the way to class to avoid possible eye contact. Even though I’m older, and considered a non-traditional student, I truthfully believe we have somewhat lost the ability to communicate with one another face to face.

With that said, if I’m going to ignore all of my surroundings, drowning myself in the voice of the soul works for me.

“You know what music is? God’s little reminder that there’s something else besides us in this universe; harmonic connection between all living beings, everywhere, even the stars.” -Robin Williams

Leave a Reply

