The Love/Hate Relationship Between Celebrities and the Press

Does the press go too far in revealing private details about celebrities? Why or why not? Given that celebrities benefit from positive coverage, should they be given more power to control negative coverage?

I’d like to say I don’t enjoy celebrity gossip, but let’s be honest–I partake in grocery store checkout line reading, and the occasional viewing of a story on the internet if it’s about someone I’m interested in. There are those who maintain the belief that celebrities live the kind of lifestyles that demand attention, so that’s what they get, right? However, I only agree with that to an extent. Obviously celebrities are going to receive more attention than an everyday Joe, but at the same time, they’re still human beings. If I obtained celebrity status, I would still want some time to myself. Personally, I think celebrities should expect a certain amount of attention; however, I also believe the press can go too far, especially when they start including children.

Contrary to the question, I think that celebrities benefit typically from any kind of coverage. Even if it’s negative, they’re still in the spotlight.

“I just want one day off when I can go swimming and eat ice cream and look at rainbows.” – Mariah Carey

Leave a Reply

